It is possible to earn a Diocesan Catechetical Certificate online through Dayton University. The following are the required course:

Level I

  1. Old Testament
  2. New Testament
  3. Survey of Catholic Doctrine
  4. Christology
  5. Introduction to Catechesis

Level II

  1. Church History I
  2. Introduction to Prayer
  3. Introduction to Scripture
  4. Introduction to Christian Morality
  5. Leadership in Ministry

Level III

  1. Sacraments
  2. (Spirituality Course – under construction)
  3. Survey of Catholic Social Teaching
  4. Second Vatican Council: An Overview

All students seeking a diocesan Level III Catechist Certificate are required to take Ministry Skills III– Field Experience.